Agency details

Agency number: 679

Agency title: Broken Hill Division of the University of New South Wales

Start date: 1959

End date: 1984

Creation:

Abolition:

Administrative history

The power for Council to establish a College at Broken Hill was first named in the Technical Education and New South Wales University of Technology Act 1949 (Act No. 11, 1949, 29(1)) that established the university.

In 1951 the university assumed the responsibility for certain diploma courses of the Department of Technical Education, including some at Broken Hill Technical College. These courses led to the award of Associate of the Sydney Technical College (ASTC). Initially, however, the university's presence at Broken Hill remained fairly minimal and centred entirely on the teaching and issue of these diplomas.

This began to change, however, when on 10 March 1958 Council passed the resolution "that the university division at Broken Hill be 'The Broken Hill School of Mines of the New South Wales University of Technology" and "that a Professor of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry be appointed as Head of the School of Mines, that an additional lecturer or senior lecturer be appointed in the Mechanical Engineering School, that part-time lecturers in special subjects such as Mining Engineering be given the status of senior lecturers, and that Professor in charge of the parent schools in Sydney be official supervisors of the relevant courses in Broken Hill" (resolution 58/31).

This title for the Broken Hill division does not appear to have actually received general use, however, as by Council's 11 May 1959 meeting where it approved the appointment of Mr T. K. Hogan to take on the position of Director, it was also determined "that the name of the Broken Hill centre be 'The Broken Hill Division of the University of New South Wales" (resolution 59/105). Mr Hogan took up his position on 7 September 1959 and so the Broken Hill Division commenced operations.

In 1961 courses commenced leading to degrees of the university and on 30 June 1966 the first University of New South Wales conferring of degrees ceremony was held at Broken Hill.

On 9 March 1964 Council resolved that "the proposed new university building at Broken Hill be known as the W. S. & L. B. Robinson College of the University of Broken Hill. The last graceremony for the Broken Hill Division was held on 17 May 1985 Civic Centre.

UNSW University Archives

Agency details

| Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Executive / Heads of Department / Division Administration Committee of the Broken Hill Division | 1970 - 1980 |
|--|---|
| Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Broken Hill College/Industry Liaison Committee | 1971 - 1975 |
| Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Library Committee of the Broken Hill Division | 1971 - 1980 |
| The Robinson College Irregular Newsletter of the Broken Hill Division | 1975 - 1976 |
| Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Building Committee of the Broken Hill Division | 1977 - 1977 |
| Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Planning Committee of the Broken Hill Division | 1979 - 1980 |
| | Administration Committee of the Broken Hill Division Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Broken Hill College/Industry Liaison Committee Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Library Committee of the Broken Hill Division The Robinson College Irregular Newsletter of the Broken Hill Division Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Building Committee of the Broken Hill Division Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Planning Committee of the Broken Hill |